Morningstar Announces Winners of 2018 Malaysia Fund Awards

Morningstar has announced the winning funds and fund houses for its 2018 Malaysia Fund Awards on 20 March, 2018.

Morningstar Editors 22.03.2018
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

The annual Morningstar Malaysia Fund Awards are designed to help investors identify the funds that added the most value for investors within the context of their relevant peer group in 2017 and over longer time periods. Morningstar selects the winners using a quantitative methodology with a qualitative overlay that considers the one-, three-, and five-year performance history of all eligible funds, and adjusts returns for risk using Morningstar Risk, a measure that imposes a higher penalty for downside variation in a fund’s return than it does for upside volatility.

“Over the years, we have earned trust from investors for our in-depth, unbiased, and independent analyses that help them make informed investment decisions,” said Nick Cheung, Chief Executive Officer for Morningstar in Asia. “It’s our honor to recognize outstanding achievement in investment management again this year through the Morningstar Awards.”

“All of our winners delivered strong three- and five-year returns after adjusting for risk, in addition to outperformance of their peers during the last 12 months,” said Anthony Serhan, Morningstar’s Managing Director of Research Strategy for Asia Pacific. “These funds have demonstrated that they have the ability to earn strong returns over the long term without undue risk. We believe that taking a patient, long-term view to investing will ultimately help investors reach their financial goals.”

The winners of the 2018 Morningstar Malaysia Fund Awards are:



Best Asia-Pacific Equity Fund

Affin Hwang Select Asia (ex-Japan) Opportunity

Best Malaysia Bond (Syariah) Fund

Libra ASnitaBond Fund

Best Malaysia Bond Fund

Libra BondExtra Fund

Best Malaysia Large-Cap Equity (Syariah) Fund

PMB Shariah Premier Fund

Best Malaysia Large-Cap Equity Fund

Affin Hwang Select Opportunity



The Morningstar fund category awards are based on Morningstar fund data as of 31 December 2017. The awards methodology emphasises the one-year period, but funds must also have delivered strong three- and five-year returns after adjusting for risk within the awards peer groups in order to obtain an award. For the full methodology, please click here


Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

About Author

Morningstar Editors  -

© Copyright 2024 Morningstar Asia Ltd. All rights reserved.

Terms of Use        Privacy Policy          Disclosures