2021 Morningstar Fund Awards Malaysia

On 25 March, we will announce our annual Morningstar Fund Award winners in Malaysia

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Morningstar Awards

On 25 March, we will announce the winners of the annual Morningstar Fund Awards – Malaysia. This year, we will present two types of awards: Category Awards for Equity, and Category Awards for Fixed Income.

Morningstar Category Awards
On the equity side, the categories include Malaysia Large-cap Equity, Malaysia Large-cap Equity (Shariah), and Asia-Pacific Equity (Asia-Pacific ex Japan Equity, Asia-Pacific Equity). On the fixed income side, the categories are Malaysia Bonds and Malaysia Bonds (Sharia).

These awards are given to the funds with the best risk-adjusted performance within their Morningstar Categories or groupings of Morningstar Categories, subject to qualitative review. The objective of the quantitatively driven Morningstar International Fund Awards program is to recognise those funds and fund groups that have added the most value within the context of a relevant peer group for investors over the past year and over the longer-term.

As the awards are annual, we believe it is appropriate to emphasise a fund’s one-year performance. However, we do not believe that it serves investors well to give awards to funds that have posted a strong one-year return, but have otherwise not delivered good results for investors. The awards methodology therefore emphasises the one-year period, but funds must also have delivered strong three-and five-year returns after adjusting for risk within the awards peer groups in order to obtain an award. Further, they must have been at least in the top half of their respective peer groups in at least three of the past five calendar years. You can read the full methodology here.


Want to Build Your Own Portfolio?

Find The Tools Here

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

About Author


© Copyright 2024 Morningstar Asia Ltd. All rights reserved.

Terms of Use        Privacy Policy          Disclosures